Novels and Short Stories

I love books. I love to read 'em, and I love to write 'em.

This page will have information about novels and short story collections I have written.

My latest novel (co-written with my sister Judi Thompson) is now available in the Kindle Store. This one is  mystery/suspense novel set in Houston, Texas.

  Macy Adams, a beautiful college student, is abducted and brutalized by a vicious serial killer known as the Bayou Butcher.
  She escapes with the help of a guardian angel and Houston Police Detective Chance O’Brian. After fleeing her captor, she tries to start a new life, but is plunged back into his murderous grasp by circumstances beyond her control.
  When more women turn up dead in the Bayou, only Macy can help the FBI catch the Butcher before he kills again.
  What no one knows is that this time the monster is out for revenge and is pulling Macy into his carefully planned trap.  
You can purchase the eBook here and read it on your Kindle Reader. If you don't have a Kindle, no problem. You can download a free Kindle reader for any smart phone, iPad, PC, or Mac. The download is offered on the Kindle website.

Judi and I hope you enjoy reading it as much as we enjoyed writing it. Click here to learn more about the writing team of Tess Thompson.

Second Daughter is the second novel I have co-writtten with my sister Judi Thompson. This time our book is a mystery set in Washington, D.C., Baltimore, and Philadelphia. 

JW Kelley’s life has spiraled out of control following a devastating incident when he was with the Secret Service protecting the Vice President’s family. His dreams and his spirit shattered, he returns to his hometown a changed and damaged man. Years later, Katie Curtis, the Second Daughter seeks help from the only person she can trust as she runs for her life in a dangerous game of cat and mouse with a cruel and cunning killer. 

You can purchase the eBook here and read it on your Kindle Reader. If you don't have a Kindle, no problem. You can download a free Kindle reader for any smart phone, iPad, PC, or Mac. The download is offered on the Kindle website.


If you prefer to read a paperback edition you will find it here.

Judi and I hope you enjoy reading it as much as we enjoyed writing it. Click here to learn more about the writing team of Tess Thompson.

Our Hearts Remember. A story of a close, loving family in crisis,
Once again, the amazing cover was designed by Charles Bourland. (He is an amazingly talented graphic designer who just happens to by my cousin.)

Here are the covers of my other novels that are available as Kindle editions.

All of my books are available as Kindle editions. Click here to purchase for only $2.99.

If you don't have a Kindle, no problem. You can download a free Kindle reader for any smart phone, iPad, PC, or Mac. The download is offered on the Kindle website.

I do all my reading on my Kindle, my iPhone or my iPad because they come with a built in night light.

Check out the summaries and reviews of my novels below:

The Van Winkle Bride/ Romantic Suspense

Shirine McVey was engaged to Jeff Fordham, a kind, gentle man who stirred her blood as no man ever had. That was twenty years ago. She awakens in a strange town-married to a man she doesn't know. Where is Jeff? Could her vivid memories of him be only a dream? No. It was not possible to fabricate that once in a lifetime love-a love that, even after twenty years, would not die.

"Wow, what a great story. Not predictable! I could not put this down, and had to finish it in one day. This is my favorite Charlene Tess book so far. It was her first, but I have already read others. There is no specific order to these books, but this would be my first recommendation." -- Carolyn Wilhelm

Click here to purchase your copy for only $2.99

The Rebecca Bride/ Romantic Suspense 

Zeke Milligan is stuck between a rock and a hard place. He is desperately in love with Lynn, but a dark secret from his past continues to rear its ugly head. Worse yet, he persistently punishes the love of his life for events that took place before he ever met her. Should he tell her the truth and clear his conscience? Will honesty cost him the only true love he has ever known? Or will Lynn understand that the past events were beyond his control and forgive him for his deceit.
"Have you ever read a book and long after you put the book away, the characters stay with you? Such is the case with Charlene Tess' The Rebecca Bride. Handsome Zeke Milligan has a hidden past that prevents him from giving his all to his true love, Lynn. Unable to understand why Zeke holds back, Lynn gives up hope and moves away. Will Zeke resolve his problems and win back the love of his life? Just as he seems to, other burdens fall on him until he can't seem to escape the burden of his past.
This roller-coaster romance will keep you turning the pagesas you root for Zeke and Lynn. It's a great read." --L. C. Hayden

 Accidental Angel/Romance (This is the novel I co-wrote with my sister Judi Thompson under the pen name Tess Thompson.)

Dr. Shane Madden’s life changed forever the day his guardian angel, Dena Quinn, saved his life. Suddenly, his relationship with his boss’ daughter is meaningless. Now, to find happiness, Shane must overcome Dena’s distrust of men, the shady dealings he has witnessed at the hospital, and a threat from her ex-husband, Mark.

"It is a good read . I would def recommend it to anyone. It keeps you reading it. Enjoy it." --Vicky Schmidkofer

The Cowboy’s Treasure/Historical Romance

In August of 1868, Sarah White is left alone to care for her four-year-old brother and save the family homestead in Ogallala, Nebraska. She hires Jeremiah Boyd, a twenty-six year old Texas cowboy stranded after the summer trail drive, who is willing to work for room and board. When there is not enough cash to pay the mortgage her no-account half-brother, Wilber, plans to take over the farm. Jeremiah’s bold plan is to return to Texas, buy longhorn cattle and drive them north to sell to the government. He tells her to trust him and rides off with her heart and her future in his hands.

"An amazing love story not only between a man and a woman but the love of a child. Not only are the main characters developed but the reader gets to know enough about the other people in the novel without getting bogged down in unnecessary detail. The reader never has to read through paragraph after paragraph of unnecessary description but instead small bites of information are revealed through out the story. An easy book to read and a hard book to put down. My favorite romance novel ever. Touched my heart and soul. A must read." -- Halley Glen

Our Hearts Remember/General Fiction

Patricia Gillespie’s life revolves around her husband, Mac; her daughter, Alaina; and her precious five-year-old granddaughter Patti-cake. A tragic accident and a devastating illness change everything in Patricia’s life, and she must deal with the possibility of losing everyone she loves.


"This story, while fiction, is realistic and an engaging read. I didn't want to put the book down, and wondered about the well developed characters when doing other things. The author tells this story in three voices which I liked, and told it in sequential order so it wasn't a needless puzzle to solve. It is a relationship story with heart tugging moments."--Carolyn Wilhelm

Share It